Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Interview with New Boston Handmade Member Hypothesis

By Rebecca of Hypothesis

BH: Tell us a bit about yourself (name, location, affiliations, personal stuff).
Hypothesis: I live in Watertown on the Cambridge border, but I grew up in Connecticut. My studio is on the second floor of the apartment I share with my best friend, Kris, and our tiny dog, Lucy. Together we drink a lot of coffee, chat about loving Christmas, and generally obsess about things that look old.

BH: What are your favorite materials?
Hypothesis: If something doesn't have a little bit of give to it, it doesn't excite me that much. When I go to a tag sale, an estate sale, or a thrift store, I can feel the buzz of loved objects that are just waiting for me to get my hands on them. I especially love rescuing anything that might be (oh no!) thrown away.

BH: Describe your work.
Hypothesis: I generally try to make something better out of something already good. Take a vintage leather belt for example - it could be that the buckle is broken, a hole or two is worn out, or the color is starting to fade. Once I get my hands on it, it is utterly transformed.

BH: What’s your favorite way to spend a Sunday morning?
Hypothesis: On Sundays my girlfriend and I go to mass at the Paulist Center off Park Street in Boston. Since we both grew up Catholic, it's really nice to have this time together.

BH: Is there anything about you that would surprise people to know?
Hypothesis: I am extremely shy, and things like craft fairs and shows make me very nervous. I try to do my best, though!

No comments :

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...